International high jump contest with music

Top Highjump

"Memorial Sam Besch"


The winning tickets of the 6th Memorial Sam Besch Tombola are (first prize to 8th prize):
608 - 022 - 307 - 645 - 100 - 099 - 041 - 745

The winners are kindly requested to contact GS Sports in Bettembourg, rte d'Esch, Tel: +352 524 524 to get their prizes.

Some pictures of 2006 (62 pictures now online, Macromedia Flash 7 required!)

Click here for an interactive 360° panorama of the venue taken during the Cadie competitions in 2006.

Reviews of the 2006 edition

R. Dubnova wins at last!

I. Kovalenko and T. Grigoreva on podium

The weather conditions have been very, very hot... maybe too hot for some athletes, and there was also a strong wind which made life difficult.

At her third participation at the Memorial Sam Besch, Romana Dubnova (CZE) finally manages to win the competition with a nice jump over 1.91m. Both Irina Kovalenko (UKR) and Tatiana Grigoreva (RUS) missed the 1.88m three times, but up to then showed a good competition.

"Oldie" and ever-present Sabrina de Leeuw showed a very good series of jumps even if she is training less intensively than in the past, and did one of her best contests shown in Dudelange (1.82m).

Marion Parmentier from the neighboring France, improved her season's best performance at her first appearance in Dudelange. Lucie Finez however struggled with some problems, and did not really enter into the competition.

Unfortunately Liz Kuffer could not fulfill the expectations one could have, as she was quite nervous during her first participation in front of the local public. But we are sure she will grow used to it in the near future.


Rank Name Perf.
1 Romana DUBNOVA (CZE) 1.91m
2 Irina KOVALENKO (UKR) 1.85m
3 Tatiana GRIGOREVA (RUS) 1.85m
4 Sabrina DE LEEUW (BEL) 1.82m
5 Marion PARMENTIER (FRA) 1.73m
6 Jitka MOUDRA (CZE) 1.73m
7 Lucie FINEZ (FRA) 1.70m
8 Liz KUFFER (LUX) 1.60m

                              1.55 1.60 1.65 1.70 1.73 1.76 1.79 1.82 1.85 1.88 1.91 1.94
 1 Romana DUBNOVA (CZE)       -    -    -    -    -    o    o    o    o    xo   o    xxx
 2 Irina KOVALENKO (UKR)      -    -    -    -    -    o    xo   o    o    xxx
 3 Tatiana GRIGOREVA (RUS)    -    -    -    -    o    o    xo   o    xxo  xxx
 4 Sabrina DE LEEUW (BEL)     -    -    -    o    -    o    xxo  xxo  xxx
 5 Marion PARMENTIER (FRA)    -    -    xo   o    o    xxx
 6 Jitka MOUDRA (CZE)         -    -    o    o    xxo  xxx
 7 Lucie FINEZ (FRA)          -    -    -    o    x--  xx
 8 Liz KUFFER (LUX)           o    o    xxx

G. Moroz wins again

Young V. Kolesnikov gets second place

Concerning the weather, what was true for the ladies was even "more true" for the men: most athletes seemed to suffer from the quite hot temperatures, but also because of the strong wind. In fact, most of the athletes stayed far below their personal or season best.

Vadim Kolesnikov was the exception to the rule: he approached his personal best of 2.21 (done this year) by only one centimeter! Gennadiy Moroz and the Olympic Champion of 2000, Sergey Klyugin, showed a good competition up to 2.15, but first difficulties have arosen at 2.20m, the last height they managed to jump. The wind gusts coming from the back could explain part of this difficulties, as they have been pushing the athletes into the bar once the jump has been done.

Aleksey Dmitrik, after his frightening injury in 2004, managed to forget this misadventure (although the scares are still visible on his ankle), and made a very good first jump, and a reasonable series up to 2.20m. Then, at 2.24m, believe it or not, the same ankle twisted again, and he had to quit the competition.

The rest of the participants, coming from the Czech Republic (Jan Janku, Jiri Krehula, Michal Saman and Hon Dalibor), Slovakia (Michal Spak) and Belgium (Stijn Stroobants and Hubert Timothey) did not make it up to 2.20m.

The only announced FLA athlete, Asmir Mirascic, unfortunately had to cancel because of an injury... at his ankle.


Rank Name Perf.
1 Gennadiy MOROZ (BLR) 2.20m
2 Vadim KOLESNIKOV (RUS) 2.20m
3 Sergey KLYUGIN (RUS) 2.20m
4 Aleksey DMITRIK (RUS) 2.20m
5 Jan JANKU (CZE) 2.15m
6 Jiri KREHULA (CZE) 2.15m
7 Stijn STROOBANTS (BEL) 2.10m
  Michal SAMAN (CZE) 2.10m
9 Hon DALIBOR (CZE) 2.10m
  Hubert TIMOTHEY (BEL) 2.10m
11 Michal SPAK (SLK) 2.05m

                             1.90 1.95 2.00 2.05 2.10 2.15 2.20 2.24
 1 Gennadiy MOROZ (BLR)      -    -    -    -    o    o    xo   xxx
 2 Vadim KOLESNIKOV (RUS)    -    -    o    o    o    xo   xo   xxx
 3 Sergey KLYUGIN (RUS)      -    -    -    o    o    o    xxo  xxx
 4 Aleksey DMITRIK (RUS)     -    -    -    -    o    xo   xxo  x--
 5 Jan JANKU (CZE)           -    -    -    -    o    xo   xxx
 6 Jiri KREHULA (CZE)        -    -    -    xo   o    xxo  xxx
 7 Stijn STROOBANTS (BEL)    -    -    -    o    o    xxx 
   Michal SAMAN (CZE)        o    o    o    o    o    xxx
 9 Dalibor HON (CZE)         -    -    o    o    xo   xxx
   Hubert TIMOTHEY (BEL)     -    -    o    o    xo   xxx
11 Michal SPAK (SLK)         -    xxo  xo   xxo  xxx


Winners of the last editions

2006 Gennadiy Moroz (Belorussia) 2.20m   Romana Dubnova (Czechia) 1.91m
2005 Gennadiy Moroz (Belorussia) 2.29m   Viktoriya Seryogina (Russia) 1.95m MR
2004 Jesse de Lima (Brazil) 2.24m   Tatyana Novoseltseva (Russia) 1.91m
2003 Alexeij Kravtsov (Russia) 2.23m   Birgit Kähler (Germany) 1.88m
2002 Tomas Ort (Czechia) 2.26m   Maria Melova (Slovakia) 1.91m
2001 Tora Harris (USA) 2.24m   Alina Astafei (Germany) 1.88m
2000 Christian Rhoden (Germany) 2.30m   Maria Melova (Slovakia) 1.90m
1999 Patrick de Paepe (Belgium) 2.18m   Irčne Tiendrebeogo (Monaco) 1.92m
1998 Christian Rhoden (Germany) 2.32m MR   Birgit Kähler (Germany) 1.93m MR
    Andrea Baumert (Germany) 1.78m
    Daniela Rath (Germany) 1.83m
1995 Raymond Conzemius (Luxembourg) 2.22m  

| review of the 1998 edition | review of the 1999 edition | review of the 2000 edition | review of the 2001 edition | review of the 2002 edition | review of the 2003 edition | review of the 2004 edition | review of the 2005 edition |best ever results |

last update: 21.08.2006
by Claude Schaeffer